In the land of tall women and short men

I am so lucky to be here at the Philly Trans Health Conference.  I’m here to learn (and I’ve been learning a ton, so mission accomplished).  I am in awe of how it feels to be in a trans/nonbinary majority space.  To walk the halls with people of all combinations of gender identity and gender expressions.  And to feel so normal and empowered by all of it.   It’s also nice not to be the shortest guy in the room for once.

There are also so many heroes here.  Legal and political advocates, policy makers, academics, activists, medical professionals, and so many others that help trans people achieve recognitions, acceptance, and access to basic services and accommodations.  Thank you to everyone I’ve met–you’re my heroes.

I won’t leave out the YouTube celebrities. I’ve met several and spotted others.  Like many trans people, I’ve spent countless hours in the YouTube rabbit hole. Watching transitions on YouTube played a pivotal role in self-discovery, coming out, and getting essential information. This is even truer for kids growing up in environments lacking other resources.  Trans YouTube celebrities provide visibility and a feeling of normalcy to so many.  So thank you too.


(Oh god I look horrible in that bottom pic…)

Leave a Reply

