Question from a five-and-a-half-year-old boy

I’m shopping with my not-quite-three-and-a-half-year-old daughter on Mother’s Day when she makes a new friend.  He is “five and a half” and full of questions.  My daughter has started calling me daddy, and this Mother’s Day we only celebrated her mother (I almost wrote her “other mother”…which shows that I’m slow at adjusting, too).  So half-way through the day, I don’t want to ruin it by doing anything to make this more confusing for her.  But her new friend has a question.

Boy:  Are you her mom?

Me:  I’m her parent.

Boy: But, are you her mom?

Me: (Hesitating) I’m more like her…dad.  (My daughter smiles and nods.)

Boy:  Oh, so you’re her dad?

Me: Yeah.  (More nodding from my daughter.)

Boy:  So how come you talk like a mom?

Me: That’s just how my voice is.

Boy: Oh, ok.

He didn’t flinch or seem confused once I answered his question about my voice.  And my daughter, who’s still getting used to calling me Daddy, looked pretty happy with the conversation.

4 comments

  1. SeekingClarity · May 9, 2016

    That story just made me smile 🙂 I’m so happy for you, and this just goes to show how open we are all born to be and how acceoting kids are. Great job with your family and congratulations on raising a good kid 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Kai · May 10, 2016

    I wish everyone could be as accepting as five and a half year olds! This made me smile!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 2lamar55 · May 10, 2016

    This is amazing story

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Fredrication · May 11, 2016

    Kids are wonderful! My kids kindergarten friends are a bit confused still, not really convinced that I’m her dad…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

