The Personal is Political (with a capital Pee)

…And there’s nothing more personal than taking a piss in public. So, just my luck that the month I’m easing out of the closet about being transgender, we have decided to start a national dialogue about trans people.  And when I say dialogue, I mean series of misinformed rants, hateful statements, boldfaced lies, and unsuccessful attempts to counterbalance with facts.

For people like me, all this debate has a very real, very practical effect. I’m literally scared shitless. Since this debate has started on the national stage, I’ve been nervous to be called out for using any public restroom. I still mostly get called ma’am, but not always, and I have a fear that whether I’m in the ladies’ or the gents’, some riled up asshole with a point to prove is going to shame me or hurt me for being where they think I don’t belong.

I know, I know. I’m probably being paranoid.  I don’t live in North Carolina (just a bordering state).  No one has given me more than a questioning look or passive aggressive comment for being in the bathroom since I was a teenager (there were a few instances back then that people were more confrontational).

So what freaks me out now?  The honesty with which people are revealing their disgust and hatred of trans people. The boldness they have in expressing these ideas proudly and openly. And the fear that people like this could be anywhere, waiting for a moment to prove their point.

 

Screen Shot 2016-04-28 at 9.19.34 PM

Screen Shot 2016-04-28 at 10.19.03 PMScreen Shot 2016-04-28 at 10.13.43 PM

Screen Shot 2016-04-28 at 10.30.46 PM

Ok, ok. Enough.

3 comments

  1. Fredrication · April 29, 2016

    One reflection I read just the other day stated that with the same logic as why trans women (cause that’s really what it’s all about, surprisingly few are concerned about trans men in the men’s room) shouldn’t use the women’s bathrooms, Catholic priests should be banned from the men’s bathroom in order to save our boys from molastation. It’s not the most well-put argument, I’ll agree, but they’ve got a point. Why wasn’t this an equally big issue back when that news exploded?

    Like

  2. Josie's World · April 30, 2016

    Damn. Thank you for posting this. Being transgendered is scary right now. I couldn’t agree more.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Locker Room Memories | T Minus Zero

Leave a Reply

